Week 5 – New Course, New Project

NEW COURSE

I am feeling both happy and grateful this week because I have joined the 6 month Web Design Professional Course which started at Web Courses Bangkok (WCB) on Monday. When I started my internship at WCB a month ago, this was exactly the opportunity I was hoping for. Lucky me!  It’s been nice to meet people from all over the world.  Seriously not one of the students is from the same country.  We have students from Slovenia, Senengal, Ireland, Belgium, Netherlands, UK, USA, Hungary and of course New Zealand.  We’ve had a busy week getting to know the roles of web design, the pros and cons of freelancing, things to think about when getting a brief from a client (I thought a lot about the article I was writing on this exact topic, see link later in bog) and getting practice at looking at websites through new eyes – web designer eyes.

Here’s a photo taken from the very first class last Monday.

WCB Classroom Web Design Course
Carl looks happy with his first lesson. He’s never short of a joke or two…

A course wouldn’t be a course without homework, so yes we’ve had work to do at home this week too. My kids love that I have to do homework now too!  Me, not so much!  At least it’s been interesting. One of the homeworks this week was to find a site that inspired me and that I would like to build.  I liked this one http://www.joyoushealth.com/.  I was looking for funky websites on a topic that interested me and nutrition certainly does.  I couldn’t find any funky interactive nutrition sites out there but this one caught my eye due to it’s colours and ‘pleasant on the eye’ layout.  I also really liked the candy striped navigation underline border.  I would like to build a site that stands out in some way and I thought the striped line certainly did.  I think the homepage has a very inviting feel which makes you want to know more due to it’s both happy and positive colours and language.  Doesn’t it just make you feel good looking at this page?

Joyous Health home page
A joyous and happy home page!

NEW PROJECT

Izaac and I were given a new project to work on this week.  It’s called Happy Tours. Basically we will go through the motions of building a mock website from start to finish. This well then be used as a website example for the Web Design students to use in a few months.  The students will then have to build the website with all the content that Izaac and I create.  We will work as a team – hopefully I can keep up with the little whipper snapper from the Netherlands.  Anyway, we are just in the early stages of coming up with client briefs both macro and micro.  Carl put us the through the client role play scenario again.  We got the information required, perhaps not in the most eloquent of fashions but nonetheless we got what we needed…

Here’s the rough sitemap we have to work off.  Bare in mind we just started this on Friday afternoon!  There will be a lot more to show next week.

Happy Tours site map
Site map for Happy Tours 🙂

I finished my article on how to prepare for your very first client meeting as a freelancer.  Here is a link to it as promised – http://www.webcoursesbangkok.com/blog/first-client-meeting/.  I’m certainly no expert as it’s quite a long way off before I will be conducting one of these!  But it’s good to get all those ideas in my head early so when the time comes I will more be prepared.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s blog. See you next week!

Leave a comment